Westward School

Early Years Curriculum





What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Early Years Foundation Stage is how the Government and Early Years professionals describe the time in your child's life between birth and age 5, or the end of reception year. It is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. Here at Westward we aim to make your child's early years experiences happy, exciting, fun and active, as well as supporting their development, care and learning needs.

How will my child be learning?

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child's healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 4 areas are used to plan your child's learning and activities. We plan activities that are suited to your child's unique needs. The curriculum is very flexible to enable us to follow these unique needs and interests.

The children here in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and

through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

For more information, please follow the link below.